Free content by Fresh

Wednesday, May 20

Fifteen candidates stand in Mt Albert by-election

The Chief Electoral Office has released the details of who is standing and where people can vote in the 13 June Mt Albert by-election.

Fifteen candidates are seeking selection as the Mt Albert electorate Member of Parliament.

Nominations for the by-election have closed. The following candidates have been confirmed:
Candidate Name
Jim Bagnall
Ari Baker
John Boscawen
ACT New Zealand
Ben Boyce
The Bill and Ben Party
Simonne Dyer
Kiwi Party
Malcolm France
People Before Profit
Dakta Green
Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party
Rusty Kane
The Peoples Choice Party
Melissa Lee
National Party
Russel Norman
Green Party
Julian Pistorius
David Shearer
Labour Party
Judy Turner
United Future
Anthony Joseph James Van Den Heuvel
Human Rights Party
Jackson James Wood
“The Chief Electoral Office now moves immediately to get the Mt Albert by-election ballot papers printed and distributed in time for the start of advance voting in just over a week, Wednesday 27 May,” says Robert Peden, Chief Electoral Officer.
Advance voting is available for Mt Albert voters who will find it difficult to get to a polling place on election day, Saturday 13 June.
“Unlike a general election, there will be no polling places open outside the Mt Albert electorate on election day. Therefore, Mt Albert voters who will be outside their electorate on election day should vote in advance,” says Mr Peden.
Advance voting will be available in the Mt Albert electorate at:
  • Coverstaff Office, 509 Rosebank Road
  • Mt Albert Electorate Headquarters, Unit 1, 49 Sainsbury Road
  • Mt Albert Community Library, 84 St Lukes Road
  • Pt Chevalier Community Library, corner Great North & Pt Chevalier Roads
  • Sandringham Bowling Club, Kiwitea Street
“Mt Albert voters can also vote in advance at any Registrars of Electors’ office across the country or at the Chief Electoral Office in Wellington,” says Mr Peden.

On election day, Saturday 13 June, there will be 28 polling places in the Mt Albert electorate.

This is the same number of polling places as was available for the 2008 general election.