Free content by Fresh

Thursday, December 3

Gap Year Challenge Wraps Up in Queenstown

It’s the end of the road for the young British travellers who have been battling it out to win the coveted title of ‘The Ultimate Gap Year Traveller 2009’ in online reality travel series The Gap Year: Challenge New Zealand.

The final three contestants - Holly, Anton and Emma – completed their final challenges in Queenstown yesterday. The winner will be announced in Friday’s finale and so far, an incredible 25,000 votes have been cast online.

Over the past four weeks, the travellers have been pushed to their physical and mental limits. They have faced their fears in adventure, wild food and cultural challenges around New Zealand and won the hearts of the online community along the way.

Created by Endemol UK’s award winning Digital Studios arm, The Gap Year: Challenge New Zealand is sponsored by Tourism New Zealand in a deal brokered by New State - Endemol UK’s division dedicated to securing partnerships with leading brands.

Throughout the series, the travellers posted short videos and updates documenting their amazing adventures on The Gap Year homepages, which currently have nearly 12,000 followers across Bebo, Facebook, MySpace, Twitter and You Tube. Viewers were also able to get involved with the show by interacting with the travellers and voting for the person that they want to win.